When we honor the Cost of Freedom; Living like we mean it

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures;
he leads me beside still waters;
    he restores my soul.
He leads me in right paths
    for his name’s sake. – Psalm 23

They say, “The grave is the richest place on earth” but very few will even gain courage attending a memorial service in a public cemetery. “I can’t go there”, I fear fainting. They will say. On and on, the place remains the most deserted with all its riches.

“Why do you always like doing the most daring thing?”, asked my friend when I posed for a picture capturing a public cemetery. I expected such type of a question anyway. I took it lightly and gave my reason.“It’s because this place is so packed full with amazing stories,” I said. “Courage, struggle, joy, pain, love, service, sacrifice. Real life. What this place is really about is who these people were, and the stories that they all lived.”

img_3361

In my early days, as most of you may end up affirming to have had the same desire, I really wished i could get a chance and pay a visit where the first president of Kenya was laid to rest (a private “cemetery”). Now that I am no longer young, given a chance, I  would still go and maybe place some flowers before signing a memorial book. This  is by no mistake. The point is we no longer remember the death but the contributions he made. Similarly our loved ones are laid to rest at that time when we were the only ones sharing the sorrows, merry-making and emotional response to the send off. This could be the reason why we live fearing the grave. If shared, could be a smooth transition and we would all jump and say…..celebration of a life well lived…..

LIVE LIKE WE MEAN IT

Of course it’s a question we can all ask on a day like Memorial Day. “”Does my life honor the cost of those who gave everything to secure my freedom?”

Or, thinking about faith, “How could I do anything other than live with passion and purpose in response to what Jesus has done for me?”

Living like we mean it is the least we can do. It can also be the most we can do. Regardless, it is the best that we can do.

Jesus told this simple story, but they had no idea what he was talking about. So he tried again. “I’ll be explicit, then. I am the Gate for the sheep. All those others are up to no good—sheep stealers, every one of them. But the sheep didn’t listen to them. I am the Gate. Anyone who goes through me will be cared for—will freely go in and out, and find pasture. A thief is only there to steal and kill and destroy. I came so they can have real and eternal life, more and better life than they ever dreamed of. – John 10

3 thoughts on “When we honor the Cost of Freedom; Living like we mean it

  1. Pingback: When we honor the Cost of Freedom; Living like we mean it | Sir Mwangi Kaguku

Leave a Reply

